This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation & Format Guide: Books

Citing Books

Book with single author 

Footnotes

#. Hollis Phelps, Alain Badiou: Between Theology and Anti-Theology (Durham, Acumen, 2013), 50-51.

Shortened footnote:

Phelps, Alain Badiou, 50.

Bibliography

Phelps, Hollis. Alain Badiou : Between Theology and Anti-Theology. Durham: Acumen, 2013.

 

Two or more authors

Footnotes

#. Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015), 12.

#. Grazier and Fishman, Curious Mind, 37.

Bibliography

Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015. 

 

Edited works

Footnote

#. Adrian Thatcher, ed., The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality and Gender (Oxford, United Kingdom: Oxford University Press, 2017), p. 254-255

#. Thatcher, Theology, Sexuality and Gender, 255.

Bibliography

Thatcher, Adrian, ed. The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender. Oxford, United Kingdom: Oxford University Press, 2017.

Translated works

Footnote

#. Jhumpa Lahiri, In Other Words, trans. Ann Goldstein (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016), 146.

#. Lahiri, In Other Words, 184.

Bibliography

Lahiri, Jhumpa. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.

Editor or translator in addition to author

Footnote

#. Jane Austen, Persuasion: An Annotated Edition, ed. Robert Morrison (Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2011), 311-12.

#. Austen, Persuasion, 315.

Bibliography

Austen, Jane. Persuasion: An Annotated Edition. Edited by Robert Morrison. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2011.

Editor or translator instead of author

Footnote

#. Richmond Lattimore, trans., The Iliad of Homer (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951), 91-92.

#. Lattimore, Iliad, 24.

Bibliography

Lattimore, Richmond, trans. The Iliad of Homer. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951.

Chapter in a single-author work

Either the inclusive page numbers or the chapter or part number is given, though a note may instead list the page or pages cited. 

Footnote

#. Kate Andersen Brower, “Backstairs Gossip and Mischief,” in The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House (New York: Harper, 2015), 211.

#. John Samples, “The Origins of Modern Campaign Finance Law,” chap. 7 in The Fallacy of Campaign Finance Reform (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2006).

Shortened note

#. Samples, “Campaign Finance Law,” 30–31.

Bibliography

Brower, Kate Andersen. “Backstairs Gossip and Mischief.” In The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House, 207–22. New York: Harper, 2015.

Samples, John. “The Origins of Modern Campaign Finance Law.” Chap. 7 in The Fallacy of Campaign Finance Reform. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2006.

Chapter or other part of an edited book

In note, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part. 

Footnote

#. Mary Rowlandson, “The Narrative of My Captivity,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 19–20.

Shortened note

#. Rowlandson, “Captivity,” 48.

Bibliography

Rowlandson, Mary. “The Narrative of My Captivity.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 19–56. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.

Single volume in a multivolume work

If volumes have been published in different years, only the date of the cited volume is given.

Footnote

#. Muriel St. Clare Byrne, ed., The Lisle Letters (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981), 4:243.

#. The Complete Tales of Henry James, ed. Leon Edel, vol. 5, 1883–1884 (London: Rupert Hart-Davis, 1963), 32–33.

Shortened note

#. Byrne, Lisle Letters, 4:245.

#. Complete Tales of Henry James, 5:34.

Bibliography

If only one volume of a multivolume work is of interest to readers, it may be listed alone in a bibliography in either of the following ways:

Carson, Clayborne, ed. The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr. Vol. 7, To Save the Soul of America, January 1961–August 1962, edited by Tenisha Armstrong. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2014.

or

Armstrong, Tenisha, ed. To Save the Soul of America, January 1961–August 1962. Vol. 7 of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr., edited by Clayborne Carson. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1992–.

Footnote

#. Sean Hsiang-lin Lei, Neither Donkey nor Horse: Medicine in the Struggle over China’s Modernity, Studies of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014).

#. Judith A. Allen, The Feminism of Charlotte Perkins Gilman: Sexualities, Histories, Progressivism. Women in Culture and Society, edited by Catharine R. Stimpson. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2009), 109.

Shortened note

#. Allen, Feminism of Charlotte Perkins Gilman, 112.

Bibliography

The name of the series editor is usually omitted. When included, it follows the series title.

Allen, Judith A. The Feminism of Charlotte Perkins Gilman: Sexualities, Histories, Progressivism. Women in Culture and Society, edited by Catharine R. Stimpson. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2009.

Some series include volume and number, as shown below:

Wauchope, Robert. A Tentative Sequence of Pre-Classic Ceramics in Middle America. Middle American Research Records, vol. 1, no. 14. New Orleans: Tulane University, 1950.

Ebooks are cited just like print books, with the addition of the media format at the end of the citation: eg. Kindle edition, PDF ebook, You may also want to include an access date and  the DOI or URL at the end of the citation. Instead of providing the url you can give the name of the database you consulted instead. If no page numbers are available, you can include a section title, chapter or other locator number.

Footnote

#. Isabel Wilkerson, The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration (New York: Vintage, 2010), 183-84, Kindle.

#. Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders' Constitution (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), chap. 10, doc. 19, accessed October 15, 2011, http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

#. Joseph P. Quinlan, The Last Economic Superpower: The Retreat of Globalization, the End of American Dominance, and What We Can Do about It (New York: McGraw-Hill, 2010), 211, accessed December 8, 2012, ProQuest Ebrary.

Shortened Footnote

#. Wilkerson, Warmth of Other Suns, 401.

#. Kurland and Lerner, Founders' Constitution.

#. Quinlan, Last Economic Superpower, 88.

Bibliography

Wilkerson, Isabel. The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration. New York: Vintage, 2010. Kindle.

Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders' Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. Accessed October 15, 2011. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

Quinlan, Joseph P. The Last Economic Superpower: The Retreat of Globalization, the End of American Dominance, and What We Can Do about It. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2010. Accessed December 8, 2012. ProQuest Ebrary.