This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content

History of Christian Thought: Non-Chalcedonian Christianity

Non-Chalcedonian Christianity

The Greek Orthodox, Roman Catholic, and (most) Protestant denominations are all Chalcedonian Churches, churches that accept the theological principles agreed to at the Fourth Ecumenical Council held at Chalcedon (modern Kadıköy, Türkiye) in 451.  Yet there are a number of living Churches and Christian traditions that reject the Dyophysite conclusions of this Council of Chalcedon.  These churches include the Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria, the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church, the Syriac Orthodox Church, the Armenian Apostolic Church, the Malankara Syriac Orthodox Church, and others.  The Lapp Learning Commons hosts a number of works on these traditions; below are some recommended works and resources.


Syriac Christianity

Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church