Skip to main content

**Getting Started**: Start here

A guide to the various information resources available in the Lapp Learning Commons

Your Learning Commons Account

Welcome to the Lapp Learning Commons!

Students at Chicago Theological Seminary are granted full use privileges of the Learning Commons and its resources.

Any time you come to the Learning Commons, you will need to bring your student I.D. in order to check out materials.

 

Logging into your account

Your library account can help you keep track of the books you borrow. You can also renew books, check fines, and place holds on books by logging into your account.

The login to your library account is located in the upper-right corner of the Learning Commons Catalog.

New students

Please check your CTS email account to find a welcome letter from the Learning Commons informing you of our services, policies as well as your username and password to your library account. 

Returning students

If you no longer remember your login credentials, please email the library and request a login reset.

Circulation Policies

For details about how long you can check-out material, fines, placing holds or recalling books, see the following:

Doing Research at the Lapp Learning Commons

There are a number of different ways you can search for materials in the Learning Commons.

Most research materials can be found under the “Find” tab on the Learning Commons main web page.

Each sub-group is named after what you’d be looking for.

Search Everything

This is exactly what it sounds like. CTS subscribes to EBSCO Discovery Service, a new platform that allows users to search in one place all the content the Learning Commons either owns or subscribes to.  You can search for books, articles, streaming media and more across our catalog and all of our databases (e.g. ATLA, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project Muse, etc.). 

Find – Books at CTS

This is the Learning Commons Catalog. You can find here all of our print books, print journals, A/V material, and some of our ebooks and streaming media. You can search by title, author, or keyword.

Find – Research Guides

The research guides are a curated list of books, ebooks, journals and databases for different subject areas. The research guides are great  "starting points" if you're not familiar with the particular subject. The research guides also include a number of how-to guides (e.g. how to navigate databases such as EBSCO, ATLA, JSTOR and Project Muse).

Find—Databases A to Z

This is an alphabetical listing of all of the databases and web resources that are available in the Learning Commons. Some of these databases will require you to login if you're off-campus but several are open access and do not require a separate login.

​Find—Find a Journal

If you know which journal you're looking for, this is where you can see if it's available in the Learning Commons collection and the coverage dates.

Alternatively, you can search for what journal titles are available for any given subject. Please note that this is not where you’d search for a topic. It’s only useful if you're searching for journal titles, and not full-text articles.

Off-campus access to electronic resources

Students, faculty, and staff can use their email username and password combination to access all databases and ebooks:

  • If your name was John Doe and your email was jdoe@ctschicago.edu, then your login username would be "jdoe" and the password used would be the same as you use to access your CTS webmail.
  • Do not put "cts\" before your username.

Hours of Operation

Fall & Spring Semester

Monday, 8:30 a.m. - 10 p.m.

Tuesday, 8:30 a.m. - 10 p.m.

Wednesday, 8:30 a.m. - 10 p.m.

Thursday, 8:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.

Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Saturday, 12 p.m. to 4 p.m.

 

J-Term & Summer Hours

Monday, 9:00 a.m. - 6 p.m. 

Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. - 6 p.m. 

Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. - 6 p.m. 

Thursday, 9:00 a.m. - 6 p.m. 

Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 5 p.m. (J-Term)

Friday, 9:00a.m. - 2 p.m. (Summer)